skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Bright Star Scholars

Since 2020, the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources the Bright Star Scholar Program has supported undergraduate students with paid internships with our laboratories and research scientists.

The Bright Star Scholars are:
(If there are corrections or additions that should be made to this list, please contact Nelia Dunbar.)


  1. Brandon Dennis — Computer Science

    Dave Kasefang and Chris Armijo will be mentors for solving problems related to Bureau IT support.
  2. Haley Dietz — Mineral Engineering

    This scholarship is specifically in memory of Gloria Peterson, the late wife of long-time New Mexico Tech employee Denny Peterson. Dr. Virginia McLemore will be supervising research on rare earth element deposits in the Gallinas Mountains.
  3. Arzoo Rishad — Geology

    Dan Koning will supervise research on the paleomagnetic analysis of sedimentary rocks.