skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Bureau-supported Current Students

The 6 students listed below are currently being supported by the bureau, through our role as advisors or committee members, with financial resources, and/or with field logistical resources.

(In alphabetical order by last name. If there are corrections or additions that should be made to this list, please contact Nelia Dunbar.)

  1. Michael Berry

    PhD — (expected) 2020, NMT
    Coupled extensional landscape evolution and surface water hydrology modeling: machine learning approaches, general basin evolution and understanding the integration of the Rio Grande rift
    van Wijck, Axen, Cadol, Coblentz, Rinehart
  2. Christine Burrill

    PhD — (expected) 2021, Geology, NMT
    Testing global scaling models for cosmogenic geochronology and developing a more detailed history of Mount Erebus and Mount Waesche volcanoes
    Phillips, Heizler, Kyle, Zimmerer
    The goal of Christine’s work is to demonstrate which cosmogenic production scaling model produces correct numerical ages for multiple lava flows on Mount Erebus, Antarctica by comparing 36Cl and 3He exposure ages to 40Ar/39Ar-produced ages. The secondary goal of the project is to test whether cosmogenic nuclides should be scaled individually or uniformly by measuring the 3He/36Cl ratio of lava flows from a range of elevations on Mount Erebus. In performing these tests, we will also have the data to establish the first local cosmogenic nuclide calibration site in Antarctica, which will be applicable to broader areas of research. 40Ar/39Ar ages from numerous lava flows on the flanks Mount Erebus, most of which have never been sampled before, will hopefully help us better understand the evolution of the volcano. Similarly, 40Ar/39Ar ages from lava flows on Mount Waesche will help us understand whether there is a pattern to locations of vents, compositional changes, or frequency of eruptions and if there’s any connection between volcanism and tectonics or ice sheet levels.
  3. Brandon Dennis

    Bright Star Scholar
    Dave Kasefang and Chris Armijo will be mentors for solving problems related to Bureau IT support.
  4. Haley Dietz

    Bright Star Scholar
    This scholarship is specifically in memory of Gloria Peterson, the late wife of long-time New Mexico Tech employee Denny Peterson. Dr. Virginia McLemore will be supervising research on rare earth element deposits in the Gallinas Mountains.
  5. Morgan Nasholds

    Kottlowski Fellowship
    Masters — (expected) 2020, New Mexico Tech
    Geochronology of post-caldera volcanism at Valles caldera.
    Zimmerer, Grapenthin
    Morgan received a Bachelor's of Science in Geology from the University of Oregon in Eugene, OR in 2017 and then worked for two months at the Cascades Volcano Observatory (CVO) in Vancouver, WA and the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory (HVO) on the Big Island of Hawaii. He began his Master's program at NMT in August 2018. His geochronologic work will be used to determine eruptive frequencies, repose intervals, constrain the duration of resurgence at Valles, and help refine the stratigraphic record. In addition to establishing new ages, volumetric assessment of the post-caldera domes will be used in conjunction with the ages to determine the eruptive flux of the Valles system over time.
  6. Arzoo Rishad

    Bright Star Scholar
    Dan Koning will supervise research on the paleomagnetic analysis of sedimentary rocks.