skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Dr. Peggy Barroll and Nathan Myers receive 2020 Earth Science Achievement Awards

related image
From left to right: John Bumgarner, Nathan Myers, Dr. Peggy Barroll, Dr. Nelia Dunbar, and Todd Leahy.

Santa Fe, NM
— February 4, 2020

On February 3rd, 2020 Earth Science Achievement Awards were presented to Dr. Margaret (Peggy) Barroll, for an outstanding career in public service in the Hydrology Bureau of the Office of the State Engineer, and to Nathan C. Myers, for an outstanding career of scientific research with the United States Geological Survey (USGS). These awards were sponsored jointly by the NM Bureau of Geology & Mineral Resources (NMBGMR) and the NM Energy, Minerals, & Natural Resources Department (EMNRD).

“In this 17th year of presenting the Earth Science Achievement Awards, I am deeply grateful for the dedicated effort put towards research and public policy by our current and past award winners” said New Mexico Bureau of Geology Director Dr. Nelia Dunbar. “It’s a privilege for me to be able to honor the excellent scientists and policy makers who support the well-being of our state.”

“EMNRD is pleased to reengage in this award that elevates important work in the earth sciences,” said EMNRD Deputy Secretary Todd Leahy. “It was an honor to recognize two public servants today who have dedicated so much of their careers to the people of New Mexico.”

[more information...]