skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Annual New Mexico Earth Science Achievement Awards

Created in 2003, the Earth Science Achievement Awards generally honor two recipients, one for “outstanding contributions advancing the role of earth science in areas of public service and public policy” and the other for “outstanding contributions in advancing earth science and education.Nominations for these awards are welcome from the general public and may be made directly to the director of the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources.

The awards are currently sponsored by the New Mexico Bureau of Geology & Mineral Resources and the New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department.

2020 ESAA Award recipient: Dr. Peggy Barroll
2020 Earth Science Achievement Award recipients accompanied by several prior recipients.
From left to right: Dr. Gary King (2010), Steve Harris (2019), Dr. Bruce Thomson (2010), William C. Olson (2012), Dr. Fraser Goff (2015), Dr. Peggy Barroll (2020), Marcy L. Leavitt (2014), John Fleck (2013), Nathan C. Myers (2020), Consuelo Bokum (2006), and Dr. John W. Shomaker (2004). Other prior recipients were also present at the ceremony.