skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Bureau of Geology News

Also visit our research pages for details on our current and recent projects.
headline image
Courtesy of Jacob Thacker
New Mexico Bureau of Geology receives largest mapping grant in Nation Socorro, NM
May 16, 2022

The New Mexico Bureau of Geology’s Geologic Mapping Program was awarded $668,850 through the United States Geological Survey’s STATEMAP program to continue detailed geologic mapping in New Mexico, the largest award ever received and the most funds awarded to any program in the country this year. The award also vaulted the Bureau to the top of the list for the total amount of funds awarded to an individual agency during the 30-year history of the program, a total of over $6,681,600.

headline image
Hydrogeologist Profiled by NM Water Resources Research Institute
May 4, 2022

The April 2022 newsletter published by the New Mexico Water Resources Research Institute profiled New Mexico Bureau of Geology Hydrogeologist Dr. Talon Newton, whose work focuses on water chemistry, working with groundwater recharge models, and cave and karst hydrogeology. Within the Aquifer Mapping Program, Newton’s research projects include the hydrogeology of the Snowy River Passage in Ft. Stanton Cave, modeling recharge in the Salt Basin, and water quality monitoring in the Animas River following the Gold King Mine spill in 2015.

Access the full article here.

headline image
Digital Trends Website Features Economic Geologist’s Comments on Critical Minerals Used in Cell Phones
April 28, 2022

The article published online by Digital Trends focused on developing methods for extracting rare earth elements, or REEs, from recycled electronics, coal fly ash, and mineral ores, and featured Dr. Alexander Gysi, Economic Geologist with the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Professor in New Mexico Tech’s Earth and Environmental Sciences Department. REEs are metals found in components of smart phones, green technologies, and batteries. Gysi’s lab researches the behavior of REE-bearing fluids at high temperatures and pressures, how REE deposits form, and how they can be extracted.

Read the full article here and learn more about Gysi’s work in the Bureau’s Ore Deposits and Critical Minerals Research Laboratory.

headline image
New Bureau Art Installation: Joseph Bellacera’s The Poetry of Geology
April 26, 2022

The Poetry of Geology is a multi-paneled artwork consisting of two wall reliefs installed 20 feet off the floor on facing walls in the three-story light-filled atrium lobby of the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources building. The project was funded by New Mexico’s Art in Public Places program.

headline image
Director Dunbar serving as Interim Vice President for Research at New Mexico Tech
March 8, 2022

Bureau Director Nelia Dunbar is serving as Interim Vice President for Research at New Mexico Tech, pending a national search to fill the position. During the time that Dr. Dunbar serves in this position, Dr. Mike Timmons will be Acting Director and State Geologist for New Mexico.

headline image
Wolfgang Elston posthumously honored with a crater name on Mars
January 19, 2022

Wolfgang Elston (1928-2016), longtime professor of geology at UNM, was posthumously honored with a crater on Mars named after him. Elston's geological career began with a fellowship from the NM Bureau of Mines (now Geology) & Mines to map the Dwyer Quadrangle between Deming and Silver City. This led to PhD research in the area and the recognition many of the volcanic rocks were ignimbrites from massive calderas.

headline image
Stacy Timmons interviewed for "Searchlight New Mexico" article
January 13, 2022

Stacy Timmons, associate director for hydrogeology at the Bureau, weighs in on the importance of groundwater monitoring and water data. Click on the headline or photo to access the full article.

headline image
Rio Chama guidebook wins Southwest Book Design awards
December 9, 2021

The Bureau’s latest book The Rio Chama - A River Guide to the Geology and Landscapes is now an awarding winning publication! The New Mexico Book Association announced the winners for the 2021 Southwest Book Design Awards last week. The guidebook won for best design in two categories: Guidebooks, and Scholarly &Technical.