skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Frank E. Kottlowski/Bureau Fellowship Recipients

Since 2001, the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources has supported a graduate student, working on research within New Mexico, under a fellowship program named for Frank Kottlowski, who was the director of the Bureau of Geology from 1974 to 1991. Students to receive the fellowship are selected from amongst the applicants to the New Mexico Tech Earth and Environmental Science program. The purpose of the fellowship support is to attract high-quality students to work with bureau researchers, and to match good students with geological or hydrological research projects within New Mexico.

Besides this fellowship, we support students from NMT and other NM institutions in a wide variety of other ways.

Past and current recipients of the fellowship, in descending chronological order, are:
(If there are corrections or additions that should be made to this list, please contact Nelia Dunbar.)

  1. Annie Riggins

    Masters — 2014, NMT
    Origin of the REE-bearing episyenites in the Caballo and Burro Mountains, New Mexico
    Dunbar, McLemore, McIntosh
    Ms. Riggins studied the occurrence, origin, timing and mineralogy of REE deposits in the Caballo and Burro Mts., NM. Her primary research tools were geological mapping, mineralogy using the electron microprobe and dating using 40Ar/39Ar geochronology. Following graduation, Annie went on to work for Los Alamos National Laboratory.
  2. Michaella Gorospe

    Masters — 2013, NMT
    Uranium Mobility in Vegetation, Soils and Water below the Jackpile Uranium Mine, New Mexico
    Ulmer-Scholle, Harrison, Campbell
    Michaella went on to employment as an Environmental Specialist with the BHP-Navajo Transitional Energy Company.
  3. Kym Samuels

    Masters — 2008, NMT
    Weathering and landscape evolution recorded in supergene jarosite, Red River Valley, Northern New Mexico
    Campbell, Lueth, McIntosh, Harrison
    Following completing her MS degree, which was funded by the bureau Kottlowski Fellowship, Kym completed PhD at the University of New Mexico in 2014 and is currently a Research Associate at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, AZ.
  4. Bayani Cardenas

    PhD — 2006, NMT
    Dynamics of fluids, heat and solutes along sediment-water interfaces: a multiphysics modeling study
    Wilson, Stephens, Spinelli, Love, Phillips, Bowman
    Bayani, the first recipient of a Bureau of Geology Kottlowski Fellowship, went on to a faculty position as a associate professor and William T. Stokes Centennial Teaching Fellow at the Jackson School of Geosciences at University of Texas, Austin. In 2011, he received American Geophysical Union Hydrologic Sciences Early Career award, and in 2012, the Geological Society of America Kohout award for early career excellence in hydrologic science. He also received two Faculty Science Performance awards from University of Texas, Austin, one in 2013, and a second in 2015.

    (more information)