skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Memoir 50: "Energy and Mineral Resources of New Mexico” receives national award

related image
Memoir 50 is a boxed set of 6 monographs
related image
Editors Stacy Timmons (left) and Virginia T. McLemore (center) accepting the Charles J. Mankin Memorial Award

— June 4, 2018

The Association of American State Geologists awarded the Bureau's publication, Memoir 50: Energy and Mineral Resources in New Mexico the 2018 Charles J. Mankin Memorial Award at the annual GSA conference in Indiana,Tuesday Nov. 6, 2018. The Award is given each year to a nominated geological map, compilation, or report on regional, energy, or mineral resource geology published in the current year or one of the three preceding calendar years by a state geological survey. Editor and author Virginia T. McLemore and editor Stacy Timmons accepted the award (attached photo). Additional authors include Ron Broadhead, Gretchen Hoffman, William Chenoweth, George Austin, Virgil Lueth, Frasier and Cathy Goff and editor Maureen Wilks. Many other people in the Bureau contributed as well. The award comes with a shared $1000 prize, which the authors and editors agreed to donate to the NMBGMR Bureau/Kottlowski fellowship fund.

The award is named for Charlie Mankin (1932-2012), who earned a PhD from the University of Texas in 1958, joined the University of Oklahoma in 1959, and from 1967 to 2007 he was Director of the Oklahoma Geological Survey. He was AASG President in 1975-76, AGI President in 1978-79, and Campbell Medalist in 1987. Charlie played a key role in establishing STATEMAP, a program crucial to the state geological survey role in geologic mapping.