skip all navigation
skip banner links
skip primary navigation

Virtual Geologic Tour of New Mexico
Physiographic Provinces

The varied landscape of New Mexico is divided in six distinct physiographic provinces, each with characteristic landforms and a unique geologic history. We invite you to investigate points of geologic interest located in each province by clicking on the map below or links on the menu bar above.

NM shaded relief
Color shaded-relief image of New Mexico showing physiographic provinces. SRM = Southern Rocky Mountains.